Nominations are for books published for the first time in the English Language in the calendar year 2013.  The Awards Ceremony will take place on the 13th June 2014.

For the LEGEND Award for Best Fantasy Novel:

  • Full length novel published for the first time in the English language during the year of nomination
  • First publication, paperback, hardback or digital (no back-list or re-prints)
  • Traditional, Heroic, Epic, or High Fantasy and/or in the spirit of David Gemmell’s own work 

For the MORNINGSTAR Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer:

  • Debut Fantasy full length novel and author in the year of Nomination
  • An existing record of publication of short stories IS permissible
  • As with the LEGEND Award - Traditional, Heroic, Epic, or High Fantasy and/or in the spirit of David Gemmell’s own work


For the RAVENHEART Award for Best Fantasy Cover Art:

  • The book featuring the Nominated cover art must be published in the year of Nomination
  • In this category, re-prints and omnibus editions ARE allowed, as long as the book jacket artwork is new.
  • The artwork must have been exclusively commissioned and created for the book jacket version being nominated.

*Please note that we cannot accept nominations for: Horror, Slipstream, SF, Urban (‘real world’ i.e. Buffy or Twilight) or purely Historical (as opposed to well-researched Fantasy). If you have any uncertainty please feel free to submit the book for consideration by us at

Be a Legend!

The DGLA is a Not-for-Profit organisation, which operates through the goodwill of its volunteers, sponsors and friends.

If you would like to help the DGLA continue, please consider making a small donation to our funds:

Tribute Anthology


From Newcon Press


Author Nominations 3 Replies

Started by drosdelnoch in 2014 Nominations. Last reply by Lee Quinton Mar 4.

Legends new book 3 Replies

Started by R Peake in General Fantasy Chat. Last reply by Stephen Godden Mar 3.

The Award (Quick Links)