Gemmell Awards 2014 - THE WINNERS!

Tonight saw the prizegiving ceremony for the Gemmell Awards, with prestigious prizes given to the very best in fantasy fiction over the last year. In the fabulous surroundings of London's prestigious Magic Circle, the three awards were presented by some of the genre's most acclaimed names.

The opening award of the evening, the Ravenheart Award for best cover art, was presented by Les Edwards to Jason Chan for Mark Lawrence's Emperor of Thorns. Jason also becomes the first recipient of the stunning new Ravenheart trophy, redesigned and reimagined by Lee Blair for 2014.

The second award at the ceremony, the Morningstar Award for best debut novel, was awarded by last year's recipient, John Gwynne, to Brian McClellan for Promise of Blood, the first book in the ongoing Powder Mage trilogy.

The final award of the evening, presented by Dave Bradley of SFX magazine, was the Legend Award for best fantasy novel. This award, along with the superb snaga trophy, went to Mark Lawrence for Emperor of Thorns, the stunning final book in the Broken Empire trilogy.

Awards Chair Stan Nicholls said: 'This year's Gemmell Awards once again hosted a wonderful night celebrating the very best in fantasy fiction, and as always we have three hugely deserving winners, with Emperor of Thorns being a rare example of a book scooping two awards on the night. Congratulations to all our winners, and to all the nominees who made the shortlist.'

Views: 2912

Comment by Marj C on June 14, 2014 at 9:31

Congratulations to all the winners, but especially Mark Lawrence. Well done that man!

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of The David Gemmell Legend Awards to add comments!

© 2017   Created by Deborah J Miller - Award Administrator.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service